
Yes, AI can design a floor plan, as a concept you then check and hand to a professional. The best free AI floor plan generator in our comparison is the MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator (made by the company behind this blog): the first plan needs no account, it follows feet and square footage, and every room comes back labeled with its size. If you will sign up and need files you can edit in CAD, Drafted is the most complete, with DXF, IFC and Revit output.
Our articles are still written by humans!
Get human written articles in your Google feed.
What this post is, and is not. On 1 November 2026 we opened nine AI floor plan generators in a clean browser with no account and no cookies. Only two would draw a plan without asking us to log in, so we gave both the same house brief and recorded what came back. The other seven are compared from their own homepages and pricing pages, read the same day, and each section says which kind of evidence it rests on. We did not create accounts, so we have not seen their outputs for ourselves.
The short version
The MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator for a free plan from a description, Drafted for a plan you will edit and export to CAD, and AIBIMTool if you are an architect who needs a BIM model. The rest are good at one narrower thing, and the table says which.
| # | Generator | Best for | Without an account | Paid from | Editable export |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator | Free plan from a description | Yes, 1 plan | $12.99/mo yearly | No (PNG), 3D model next |
| 2 | Drafted | Plans you edit and export | No | $9.99/mo | PDF, DXF, IFC, Revit add-in |
| 3 | AIBIMTool | Architects, brief and site to BIM | No | $49/mo yearly | IFC4 |
| 4 | Maket | One home project, start to finish | No | $20/mo | PDF, DXF (paid) |
| 5 | floorplanmaker.ai | A guest try with no watermark | Yes, 1 plan | $19.90/mo | No (PNG) |
| 6 | Floor Plan AI | Cheap DXF and DWG conversion | No | $9.99/mo yearly | DXF, DWG (paid) |
| 7 | Home Design AI | Same generator, pay per credit | No | $9.99 for 30 credits | Not stated |
| 8 | Planner 5D | Finishing the plan by hand | No | €4.99/mo yearly | CAD on Professional |
| 9 | Ideal House | Room counts and an area band | No | Shown after login | Not stated |
How we ranked them: first, can a homeowner get a usable labeled plan for free; second, does the output follow the numbers in the brief; third, can the plan leave the tool as something editable. MeltFlex is first on the first two and last on the third, and we put it first because most people searching for a free AI floor plan generator want a plan to look at, not a DXF. If you need the DXF, start at number two.
Two of nine on 1 November 2026: MeltFlex and floorplanmaker.ai, and each allows exactly one plan before asking you to log in. Several landing pages promise more than that, so we pressed Generate on each one in a browser with no account and wrote down what happened.
| Generator | What the page promises | What happened when we pressed Generate |
|---|---|---|
| MeltFlex | “Your first plan needs no account at all” | Plan drawn, no account. A second plan needs one. |
| floorplanmaker.ai | “No sign-up is required.” | Plan drawn. The second try returned “You’ve used all your free tries as a guest.” |
| Floor Plan AI | Page title “Free AI Floor Plan Generator (No Signup)” | Sign in with Google prompt |
| Home Design AI | “New users get 4 free credits on sign-up” | Sign in with Google prompt |
| Ideal House | 10 credits per plan | Log in or sign up prompt |
| AIBIMTool | “Start free now” | Sign in prompt, with the brief carried over |
| Drafted | 1 free generation a week | Every start button opens a sign-up page |
| Maket | 30 free credits | Start buttons open a register or login page |
| Planner 5D | “Free AI Floor Plan Generator” | The editor link opens a sign-up page |
A Google sign-in costs you thirty seconds, so this is not a reason to skip a good tool. It is a reason to distrust a page that says “No Signup” in its title and then asks you to sign in.
Both drew every room we asked for in under 40 seconds, and both broke one hard number: floorplanmaker.ai drew a much smaller house in meters, and MeltFlex drew a house too wide for the lot. The brief, typed the same way into both:
Single-story house, about 1,600 sq ft. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open-plan kitchen, dining and living area, laundry room, attached two-car garage. Must fit a 50 x 100 ft lot.
MeltFlex takes the house as form fields (bedrooms, bathrooms, garage, living layout, size in feet) plus a free text box, so the rooms went into the fields and “single story, fits a 50 x 100 ft lot” into the text box. Its form also pre-ticks a kitchen island and a front porch, which we left on, as a first-time user would. floorplanmaker.ai took the brief as one text box.
| Check | MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator | floorplanmaker.ai |
|---|---|---|
| 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, laundry, open plan, 2-car garage | All present | All present (bathroom plus primary ensuite) |
| Units | Feet and inches, as asked | Meters and square meters |
| Size | Labeled rooms add up to about 1,030 sq ft before hallways, closets and walls; plausible for 1,600 | 11.0 x 11.0 m footprint, about 1,300 sq ft including the garage; labeled living rooms about 980 sq ft |
| Fits a 50 ft wide lot | No: at least 50 ft wide before side setbacks | Yes: about 36 x 36 ft |
| Dimensions agree with each other | No: overall label 40′ x 60′, top chain sums to 50′, side chain to 55′ 4″ | No lengths given, only room areas |
| Room labels | Name and size on every room | Name and area on every room |
| Garage to house door | Yes, through the laundry | Not drawn |
| Closets | Bedroom 2 and the primary; none in bedroom 3 | A wardrobe in every bedroom |
| Time to finished plan | 38 seconds | About 38 seconds |
| File | 2400 x 1792 PNG, watermarked | 1536 x 1024 PNG, no watermark |
| Second plan without an account | No | No |
The floorplanmaker.ai miss was not the model ignoring us. Its Area and Shape control defaults to 120 m² and that setting overrode the 1,600 sq ft in the text. We went back to set 1,600 ft² in the control and could not run it again without logging in. A first-time user hits exactly this, so we report the plan as it came out.
The MeltFlex miss is ours to own. The plan reads well: furnished, labeled, a sensible split between the bedroom wing and the open living space, and a garage that enters the house through the laundry, a common US arrangement. But its three overall dimensions disagree with each other, and whichever is right, a house that wide does not fit a 50 ft lot: with 5 ft side setbacks there are only 40 ft to build on. The form has no lot field, so the lot only reached the model as free text, and the model did not hold it. Our own tool page also says plans arrive “in about twenty seconds”; this one took 38. Both are on our list to fix.
The MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator: you describe the house in a form, press Create Floor Plan, and get a labeled 2D plan in feet or meters without making an account for the first one. It is made by the company that publishes this blog, so weigh the ranking with that in mind; the test above shows where it falls short.

The form covers 1 to 7 bedrooms, 1 to 5 bathrooms, garage type, basement, open or separate living areas, label style and extras such as a laundry room, kitchen island, office or pantry, with a size slider from 400 to 6,000 sq ft. A server-side check counts the bedrooms and looks for duplicated room labels before the plan is shown, which is why the room list held in our test. Each plan after the first costs 10 credits; Standard is $20.99 a month or $12.99 a month billed yearly and includes 490 credits.
Try it on the AI floor plan creator page. If you already have a plan and want to see it in 3D rather than design a new one, that is a different job, covered in our 2D floor plan to 3D model guide.
Drafted: on paper the most complete generator here, with five plan options per generation, wall, door and window editing, and PDF, AutoCAD DXF and IFC export plus a Revit add-in. We did not sign up, so this section describes what Drafted publishes, not what we saw it produce.

The workflow on its homepage starts from rooms, a house shape and lot size, generates five plans with room dimensions, then lets you edit and regenerate parts of one. Pricing is clear: Free gives 1 generation a week, Dreamer is $9.99 a month for 20, Pro $124.99 for 275 and Pro Scale $249.99 for 660. The homepage counts 172,152 users and 11.5 million plans generated; those are its own numbers. What we cannot tell you from the outside is which plan the DXF and IFC exports need, because the pricing page does not say.
AIBIMTool: you describe a building and pick the site on a map, and it builds a program, massing and floor plans as an editable BIM model you export as IFC4 to Revit, Archicad or Rhino. It is built by the same company as MeltFlex. It is aimed at architects and developers, not at homeowners who want a picture of a house.

The first building is free after sign-in, then $49 a month billed yearly. It is the only generator here that starts from a real site rather than a lot size you type, which is the right starting point for the lot-fit problem our test ran into. It does not look up zoning or setbacks for you, and its homepage carries customer logos and a “World’s #1” badge we cannot verify, so we do not repeat them. Our BIM software comparison covers where it sits next to Revit and Archicad.
Maket: a floor plan studio built around one residential project, from generated layouts to editing, renders and PDF or DXF exports, at a flat $20 a month on its Homeowner plan. We compared it from its own pages.

The free plan is 30 one-time credits and a floor costs 20, so the free tier is one single-floor plan. Homeowner adds 300 monthly credits, multi-floor plans, AI editing and the exports; Pro is $100 a month for 3,000 credits. Monthly credits expire at the end of each cycle, so a slow project pays for credits it does not use. Maket also appears in our floor plan software roundup, where it is compared with tools you draw in yourself.
floorplanmaker.ai: one plan as a guest, with no watermark, from a single text box. It is the second tool we ran the brief through, and the result is in the table above.

The room list was right and the plan fits the lot, but set the Area and Shape control before you generate: ours defaulted to 120 m² and the plan came out in meters at about 1,300 sq ft. Its FAQ says you cannot move walls in a generated plan; you regenerate or send it to its separate editor. Paid plans are $19.90 a month for 200 credits, $39.90 for 500 and $99.90 for 1,500. Generation history is kept for 24 hours.
Floor Plan AI (floor-plan.ai): DXF and DWG conversion is included on every paid plan, from $9.99 a month billed yearly ($119 a year). Its generator offers room, house and custom modes, furnished or empty plans, door swing direction and four unit systems. Compared from its pages.

Starter is 200 credits a cycle, Professional $24.99 a month billed yearly for 600, and a basic image costs 1 credit, a Pro image 4. One-off packs start at 200 credits for $29.99 and do not expire. The one thing we hold against it: the generator page is titled “Free AI Floor Plan Generator (No Signup)” and asked us to sign in with Google before it would draw.
Not that we could see from the outside: the generator has the same controls, the same 5,000 character prompt box and the same $9.99 a month, $119 a year starter price as Floor Plan AI. We could not confirm whether the two share an owner, so treat them as one choice and pick by how you want to pay.

Home Design AI also sells one-time credit packs that never expire, from 30 credits for $9.99 to 1,500 for $149, and gives 4 free credits on sign-up. If you need three plans this year rather than three a week, a pack is cheaper than any subscription on this list.
Planner 5D: its AI starts the layout from a description, an uploaded plan, a room photo or a few room details, and then you keep working in a full drag-and-drop editor with 2D and 3D views. Compared from its pages.

It is the most mature product here, an editor first and a generator second. The free plan covers unlimited projects and half the furniture catalog. From our location the pricing page showed Premium at €4.99 a month billed yearly (€19.99 monthly) and Professional at €33.33 a month yearly (€49.99 monthly); US prices may differ. CAD export is on Professional only. If you would rather draw the walls yourself from the start, see our guide on how to draw a floor plan.
Ideal House: you set bedrooms (0 to 4), bathrooms (1 to 3), open or closed kitchen, an area band and extras such as a garage or laundry, and it returns a 2D plan. Compared from its pages.

A plan costs 10 credits. The pricing page lists Lite at 800 monthly credits and Plus at 3,000 with commercial usage rights, but showed “--” in place of prices until you log in, so we cannot quote them. The 4-bedroom cap rules it out for larger family homes.
From free for one plan to about $20 a month for regular use; only the professional tiers cost more than $50. Prices were read from each pricing page on 1 November 2026; the tool names link to them.
| Generator | Free | Entry paid plan | What a plan costs |
|---|---|---|---|
| MeltFlex | 1 plan, no account; signup credits | $20.99/mo, or $12.99/mo yearly (490 credits) | 10 credits |
| Drafted | 1 generation a week | $9.99/mo (20 generations) | 1 generation = 5 options |
| AIBIMTool | First building | $49/mo yearly | Per subscription |
| Maket | 30 credits, once | $20/mo (300 credits) | 20 credits a floor |
| floorplanmaker.ai | 1 plan as a guest | $19.90/mo (200 credits) | Up to 200 generations a month |
| Floor Plan AI | Credits on sign-in | $9.99/mo yearly (200 credits) | 1 credit basic, 4 Pro |
| Home Design AI | 4 credits on sign-up | $9.99/mo yearly, or 30 credits for $9.99 | 1 credit basic |
| Planner 5D | Editor, half the catalog | €4.99/mo yearly (€19.99 monthly) | Plan-based |
| Ideal House | Trial credits on sign-in | Not shown before login | 10 credits |
No. Every generator here produces a concept plan: no structure, no code check, no zoning check, and no drawing a building department will issue a permit from. The vendors agree; floorplanmaker.ai’s own FAQ recommends “working with a licensed architect, contractor, or designer” before construction.
What an AI plan is good for is the expensive, slow part before that: deciding what you want. Twenty plans in an evening settle questions such as where the primary bedroom goes, whether the dining room earns its walls, or whether 1,600 sq ft fits three bedrooms comfortably. Walk into an architect’s office with the one you like and the first meetings get shorter. If you need the plans of a house that already exists, no generator can recover them; our guide to getting the blueprints of your house covers where they are kept.
Put every hard number into the tool’s own controls, not the free text, and then check the numbers on the plan yourself. Five things we learned from the test:
For writing briefs in ChatGPT or Gemini instead, our AI floor plan prompts and AI house design prompts have tested wording, and floor plan examples with dimensions show what normal room sizes look like. To read the symbols on whatever comes back, see the floor plan symbols chart.
On 1 November 2026 we opened each generator in an isolated Chrome profile with no cookies and no account, pressed Generate where there was one, and saved a 1280 by 820 pixel capture and the full text of each homepage. Prices come from each vendor’s pricing page the same day.
For the wider picture, see our AI interior design tools comparison, the AI space planning tools for architects and, for development teams, real estate development software. Prices change often; if one changed after 1 November 2026, tell us and we will update the table with the date.
Yes, as a concept. You give an AI floor plan generator the bedrooms, bathrooms, size and rooms you want, and it draws a labeled 2D plan in under a minute. In our 1 November 2026 test, both generators that run without an account drew every room we asked for, and both got at least one hard number wrong: one ignored the 1,600 sq ft size, the other drew a house too wide for the 50 ft lot. Treat the result as a brief to hand an architect or drafter, not a drawing to build from.
The MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator, which is made by the company behind this blog: your first plan needs no account, it follows feet and square footage, and it labels every room with its size. floorplanmaker.ai also gives one plan without an account and no watermark. With a free account, Drafted gives one generation a week and Maket gives 30 one-time credits, enough for one single-floor plan.
Two of the nine we checked on 1 November 2026: the MeltFlex AI Floor Plan Creator and floorplanmaker.ai, and each allows one plan as a guest before asking you to log in. Floor-plan.ai, Home Design AI, Ideal House and AIBIMTool showed a sign-in prompt when we pressed Generate, and Drafted, Maket and Planner 5D send every start button to a sign-up page. Floor-plan.ai titles its page "Free AI Floor Plan Generator (No Signup)" but showed a Sign in with Google prompt when we pressed Generate.
It can draw a picture of one, but it is the weakest option for a plan you want to measure. ChatGPT draws through an image model, so labels, room counts and dimensions drift between attempts unless the prompt pins them down. It works best for describing and critiquing a layout, or for a quick sketch from a careful prompt. Our AI floor plan prompts guide has prompts that hold up better.
Not directly. None of these tools does structural design, checks your local building code or zoning, or produces drawings a building department will permit. Use the AI plan to decide what you want, then have an architect, a licensed designer or a draftsperson produce the construction set. It shortens that work because the brief is already settled.
Drafted lists PDF, AutoCAD DXF and IFC exports plus a Revit add-in. Floor-plan.ai includes DXF and DWG conversion on its paid plans, Maket includes PDF and DXF exports from its $20 a month Homeowner plan, and AIBIMTool exports IFC4 for Revit, Archicad and Rhino. MeltFlex and floorplanmaker.ai return images, not CAD files.
Only if you check it. Drafted asks for lot size as part of its setup, and AIBIMTool starts from a site picked on a map, but most generators only take a room list and a total area. In our test, the generator that drew a 1,600 sq ft house made it at least 50 ft wide, which does not fit a 50 ft lot once side setbacks are taken off. Give the buildable width, not the lot width, and measure the result yourself.